Sharon has 21+ years of experience as a qualified Emergency Care Nurse registered with the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (APHRA) and 12+ years as a First Aid Trainer.
She takes pride in FirstAidPro making first aid training available, comprehensive and affordable to everybody.
- White Card Age Requirement in South Australia - 03/11/2026
- Bull Ant Bite – Sting/Bite Symptoms, Risks & First Aid - 02/11/2026
- Zoom White Card Courses in SA: What SafeWork SA Actually Accepts - 01/11/2026
This guide is for parents, school students, school leavers and school-based apprentices. It’s also for builders who want to hire them. If you’ve searched the white card age requirement in South Australia, you’ve probably found four different answers: 14, 15, 16 and 18. They can’t all be the law. So we went to the regulator’s own page and checked what it actually says, as at October 2026.
Below, you’ll find the regulator’s position and why the numbers online conflict. We also cover SA’s school-age rules, parental consent, ID and your USI, plus a state comparison.
Key Takeaways
- As at October 2026, SafeWork SA’s white card page does not specify a white card age requirement. Your training provider (RTO) issues the card.
- Each provider sets its own entry age. Many SA providers set 16 (for example, TAFE SA and Civil Train). At least one sets 18.
- The “14” you see online comes from NSW and Tasmania. SafeWork NSW and Service Tasmania state 14 for their own states only.
- Under 16 is compulsory school age in SA. Under-16s can’t work in school hours, but 15 and 16 year olds can seek school exemptions.
- Under-18 consent forms are provider policy. Check consent and ID rules when you book our SA white card course.
- Your card stays valid while you keep working in construction. See does a white card expire for the 2-year rule.
- Confirm before you book. Ask your provider about its entry age, consent form, USI and photo ID requirements.
Who This Guide Is For
This guide is for parents, school students, school leavers and school-based apprentices. It’s also for builders who want to hire them. If you’ve searched the white card age requirement in South Australia, you’ve probably found four different answers: 14, 15, 16 and 18.
They can’t all be the law. So we went to the regulator’s own page and checked what it actually says, as at October 2026.
Below, you’ll find the regulator’s position and why the numbers online conflict. We also cover SA’s school-age rules, parental consent, ID and your USI, plus a state comparison. By the end, you’ll know the real answer and who decides.

The Short Answer: Who Sets the White Card Minimum Age in South Australia?
As at October 2026, SafeWork SA’s white card page does not specify an age. That means there’s no number on the regulator’s page for anyone to quote as the SA minimum.
What the page does make clear is who issues the card. The SafeWork SA white card page states: “SafeWork SA does not issue white cards.” It adds: “The RTO will issue you with a white card once you have successfully completed the training.” It also explains that RTOs wanting to issue white cards apply to SafeWork SA through an online form.
Who Delivers the Training
The white card course is CPCWHS1001 Prepare to Work Safely in the Construction Industry. It’s a nationally recognised unit delivered by Registered Training Organisations (RTOs). In SA, the RTO that trains you is also the one that issues your card.
Because the RTO controls enrolment, the RTO also sets the entry age. In practice, your white card minimum age in SA is the entry age of the provider you book with.
As at October 2026, several SA providers publish 14 & 16 years of age as their minimum. At least one publishes 18. Entry ages can change, so check with your provider before you book.

What the National Model Rules Say
The national model rules don’t add an age either. Part 6.5 of Safe Work Australia’s model Work Health and Safety (WHS) Regulations (5 December 2025) covers general construction induction training.
Regulation 316 sets the duty to provide induction training. Regulation 317 sets the 2-year rule for keeping your card current. In short, the model WHS Regulations’ Part 6.5 set the training duty and the 2-year rule but no minimum age.
One caveat: we haven’t been able to review SA’s own regulation text. Treat this as background, and rely on SafeWork SA’s page for the SA position.
Why You’ll See 14, 15 and 16 Online
If you’re asking about a white card at 14, or a white card for a 15 year old, you’ve likely seen confident answers that contradict each other. Each number has a source. None of them is a legal minimum for SA.
Where 14 Comes From
The number 14 is real, but it belongs to NSW. SafeWork NSW states: “A person must be at least 14 years of age to participate in the training.” Service NSW also says that to hold a white card, you “must be aged 14 or over”.
Tasmania uses 14 too. Service Tasmania says white card applicants must be “at least 14 years of age”. Neither rule applies to white card training in SA.
Some provider websites appear to apply one state’s rule across other states. That may be how 14 ends up on some SA pages. Some provider sites even list 14 on one page and 16 on another.
Where 16 Comes From
The number 16 lines up with SA’s compulsory school age, which runs 6 to under 16. As at October 2026, many SA providers publish 16 as their entry age. Examples include TAFE SA, ATEC and Civil Train, while CivilEdge publishes 18.
The SA provider pages we checked set 16 or 18. These are provider policies, and each provider can change its own.
Where 15 Comes From
The number 15 usually comes from mixing up schooling and working-age rules. In SA, students aged 15 and 16 can apply for an exemption from school for employment. That’s a schooling rule, and it doesn’t set a white card age.
| Claim | Where it comes from | Applies in SA? |
|---|---|---|
| 14 | SafeWork NSW and Service NSW rule; Service Tasmania application rule | No. It’s a NSW and Tasmanian rule |
| 15 | SA school-exemption and working-age rules, mixed up | No. It’s a schooling rule |
| 16 | Entry age set by many SA providers, in line with compulsory school age | Only as provider policy |
| 18 | Entry age set by at least one SA provider | Only as provider policy |
School-Age Rules That Affect Under-18s in SA
Even once you’ve found a provider that accepts you, school rules still shape when you can work. Here’s what SA’s own sources say, as at October 2026.
No General Minimum Working Age
SA has no general minimum working age. SafeWork SA’s minimum working age page states: “There is no minimum working age in South Australia.”
There’s an important limit, though. SafeWork SA says a child of compulsory school age (6 to 16) “cannot be employed” during required school or learning hours. If you’re under 16, plan any work around school hours.
SafeWork SA also notes that some awards, agreements and other laws restrict duties for workers under a certain age. It gives liquor licensing and mining as examples.
Compulsory School and Education Age
The Department for Education’s overview of the Education and Children’s Services Act 2019 confirms the starting point. It says: “A child is of compulsory school age if they are of or above 6 years of age and less than 16.”
After 16, the rules continue. According to SA.GOV.AU, teenagers must go to school or an approved learning program until they turn 17. The exceptions are achieving their SACE (or another qualification) or having an approved exemption for full-time employment. Approved learning programs include apprenticeships and traineeships.
School Exemptions at 15 and 16
SafeWork SA says: “Students aged 15 and 16 can apply for a permanent exemption from school for employment reasons.” If this applies to you, talk to your school principal first. An exemption is a schooling decision and doesn’t change any provider’s entry age.
School-Based Apprenticeships
If you’re in Years 10, 11 or 12, you can do a school-based apprenticeship in SA as part of your SACE. Your school needs to give its approval.
The SA Skills traineeships and apprenticeships information booklet adds a safety rule. Apprentices and trainees who start while at school, or are otherwise under 18, need direct supervision unless a risk assessment determines otherwise.
CITB Subsidies for White Card Training
CITB subsidises white card training delivered through CITB Endorsed Training Providers. As at October 2026, the CITB white card course page lists a subsidised amount of $110.
Amounts and eligibility change, so check the current details with CITB. If you want the subsidy, confirm your provider is a CITB Endorsed Training Provider before you book. CITB’s course page lists no pre-requisite unit of competency and no age requirement.

Parental Consent, ID and USI for Under-18s
Once you’ve chosen a provider, three admin items matter most for under-18s: consent, your USI and photo ID. Sort these out before course day.
Parental Consent
No regulator source we found requires parental consent for white card training. Consent forms are provider policy. Some providers ask under-18s to bring a signed parent or guardian consent form. Requirements differ between providers so you will need to confirm your provider’s consent rules when you book, and will either have to upload this before attending the session or bring the signed form on the day if one is needed.
Your Unique Student Identifier (USI)
You need a USI for any nationally recognised training, including CPCWHS1001. Your USI is a 10-character code made up of letters and numbers.
The USI Registrar says: “There is no minimum age for a USI but you do need verifiable identification (ID) to create a USI.” Create yours before course day so enrolment runs smoothly.
Photo ID
Each provider sets its own ID requirements. Bring exactly what your provider lists. If you’re under 18 and don’t have a driver’s licence, ask which alternatives they accept.
Your Pre-Booking Checklist
- Entry age: Confirm the provider’s minimum age for CPCWHS1001.
- Consent form: Ask whether under-18s need a signed parent or guardian form.
- USI: Create your 10-character USI (letters and numbers) before class.
- Photo ID: Bring the ID your provider lists.
- Footwear and arrival: Follow the provider’s dress and arrival instructions, such as enclosed shoes.
- Attendance: Plan for a full day in class, as our course runs face-to-face, not online.

Does the White Card Age Requirement Change in Other States?
Yes. Some states set an age in official sources, while others leave it to providers. Here’s what we found in official sources, as at October 2026.
| State | What the official source says (as at October 2026) |
|---|---|
| SA | SafeWork SA’s white card page does not specify an age. Providers set entry ages |
| NSW | 14 (SafeWork NSW and Service NSW) |
| TAS | 14 to apply (Service Tasmania) |
| QLD | The Australian Business Licence page for the QLD card lists no minimum age |
| NT | The NT WorkSafe white card page does not state an age |
| VIC, WA, ACT | Not verified. Check with the regulator or your provider |
A page that lists no age is not the same as a rule of “no minimum”. Providers in those states still set their own entry ages. The same NT WorkSafe page also notes that applications must be lodged within 60 days of completing the training.
National Recognition
CPCWHS1001 is a nationally recognised unit, and the white card is a nationally recognised qualification. If you plan to work interstate, check the site’s requirements before you start.
How Long Your Card Stays Valid
A white card doesn’t simply last forever. SafeWork SA says your card “remains valid as long as you maintain your competencies”. That means you have worked in the construction industry within the last 2 years. If you’ve had a longer break from construction work, check with a provider about completing the training again.

Checklist for Builders Hiring School-Based Apprentices
If you’re a builder or site supervisor taking on a school student, keep compliance simple. Use this checklist before a young worker steps onto site.
- Check the card first. The model WHS Regulations (reg 316) require the business to ensure workers have completed induction training before construction work.
- Respect school hours. Compulsory-school-age workers (under 16) can’t be employed during school or approved learning hours.
- Supervise directly. Under-18 apprentices and school-based apprentices need direct supervision unless a risk assessment determines otherwise, per the SA Skills information booklet.
- Check other age limits. Some awards, agreements and other laws restrict duties for younger workers.
- Keep records. Store a copy of each worker’s white card and Statement of Attainment.
- Apply the 2-year rule. Confirm each worker has done construction work within the last 2 years.
- Confirm the entry age. Before booking group training, check the provider’s entry age and consent rules.
We also run private group white card courses & offer onsite training, tailored to your site’s risks – submit an enquiry today!
Ready To Book Your White Card in SA?
FirstAidPro delivers CPCWHS1001 Prepare to Work Safely in the Construction Industry fully face-to-face in one 6-hour day. Successful participants receive a Statement of Attainment and a nationally recognised white card, issued the same day in SA* (T&Cs apply).
We train at venues across Adelaide and South Australia. Before you book, confirm our entry age and consent requirements for your situation.
- Read the full CPCWHS1001 white card course details.
- Find a venue on our White Card SA page.
- If you’re located in or close to the Adelaide CBD, check out our upcoming course dates and pick your session.

Frequently Asked Questions
What is the minimum age for a white card in South Australia?
As at October 2026, SafeWork SA’s white card page does not specify a minimum age. SafeWork SA does not issue white cards; the training provider (RTO) does, and each provider sets its own entry age. Many SA providers set 16, and at least one sets 18. Check the entry age with your provider before you book.
Can a 14 year old get a white card in SA?
It depends on the training provider’s entry age, because SafeWork SA’s white card page does not set one. The 14-year rule you see online comes from SafeWork NSW and Service Tasmania, and it applies to those states. The SA provider pages we checked as at October 2026 set 16 or 18.
Can you get a white card at 15?
Only if your chosen provider’s entry age allows it. The number 15 often appears online because SA students aged 15 and 16 can apply for a school exemption for employment. That is a schooling rule, and it does not set a white card age. Ask your provider before you book.
Do I need parental consent to get a white card under 18?
No regulator source we found requires parental consent for white card training. Some providers ask under-18s to bring a signed parent or guardian consent form as part of their own enrolment policy. Confirm your provider’s consent requirements when you book.
Does SafeWork SA set a minimum age for white cards?
As at October 2026, SafeWork SA’s white card page does not specify an age. The page says SafeWork SA does not issue white cards, and that the RTO issues the card once you complete the training. Entry ages are set by individual training providers.
Can school students do a white card course in SA?
Yes, if they meet the provider’s entry age and enrolment requirements. Students of compulsory school age (6 to under 16) can’t be employed during school hours, so plan work around school. Students in Years 10 to 12 can also do a school-based apprenticeship as part of their SACE, with school approval.
Does a white card expire in SA?
SafeWork SA says your card remains valid as long as you have worked in the construction industry within the last 2 years. If you have not done construction work in that time, check with a provider about completing the training again. The card is recognised nationally.








